Unites States Regions:

North Central Region:

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Regional Director: Fire Chief Mike Stanley - Oshkosh Fire Department WI


A bit about Mike:

The Oshkosh Fire Department was founded in 1856 to protect the community of Oshkosh Wisconsin.  It is a career department with 112 uniformed personnel that serve a population of 66,000 people from six fire stations.  OFD is a full-service department that provides fire prevention and protection, advanced life support, airport rescue firefighting, dive rescue and hazardous materials response.  The mission of the members of the Oshkosh Fire Department is “to prevent, respond to, and minimize harmful situations involving the people we serve.”

“He truly believes that the fire service is the best career in the world!  As a child, he dreamed of someday being a firefighter.  He was able to achieve his dreams because of the help, guidance, and influence of so many people over the years.  It is his goal to assist others in realizing their dreams as well.  In his role as a Regional Director with the Firefighter Diversity Recruitment Council, he looks forward to working with other fire service leaders around the country to develop qualified candidates to become the leaders of the future.”

Michael is a 26 year veteran of emergency services and is the Fire Chief for the Oshkosh (WI) Fire Department.  Prior to that, he was a Commander with the Aurora (CO) Fire Department.  He possesses a Master of Education and Human Resources degree from Colorado State University, a Bachelor of Science degree in Organizational Leadership for Emergency Services, and Associate’s degrees in Fire Science Technology and Paramedicine.  Mike has been providing adult education for over two decades, locally, nationally, and internationally. 

He truly looks forward to working with and for the North Central Region as it relates to diversity in the fire service.

North East Region:

Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont

North West Region:

Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington and Wyoming.

South Central Region:

Arkansas, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas and West Virginia.

South East Region:

Alabama, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

South West Region:

Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Nevada, New Mexico, and Utah.

Canadian Region:

All of Canada shall be considered one region.

New Brunswick
Newfoundland & Labrador
Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island

International Region:

All other international areas shall be considered one region.

Native Land Region:

All Native Land both in the United States and Canada


Applications for all regions


If you are selected to be a Regional Director:

Your agency qualifies for a

"Free - One Year"

Firefighter Diversity Recruitment Council Membership

A Message From Our Founder
About Us
Firefighter Diversity Recruitment Council
National Recruit Database (Careers)
HS & College Support Information
Let’s Get Started, Articles & Internship
Resources & Directory
Affiliate - Multilingual - Other
Contact Us
The Firefighter Diversity Recruitment Council
Benefits of Becoming a Council Member
Firefighter Diversity Recruitment Council Regions
Council Membership List and Member Tools
Displaced Firefighters List
D.R.I.V.E. Program